” All I Wanted “….

All I wanted was to Love You.
Was that really too much to ask for ?
You never showed me any signs that I was asking for too much,
so I never truly knew the score.
I didn’t know the real truth until that one fateful day.
That was the day when you ripped my heart out,
and threw it away.
For years I never thought you would do that to me.
Clearly I couldn’t truly see.
I was blind to the truth that your Love was only a mirage.
It was a mere reflection of what my Heart yearned for from you,
and not a real blessing that would set my spirit free.
Why couldn’t you have revealed your intentions much sooner ?
Then maybe I wouldn’t have allowed myself to sink so deeply,
and perhaps now I wouldn’t be left broken and on my knees.
If I thought it would help I would swallow my pride,
and I would plead with you to once again be by my side.
I won’t go down that road for I can see the truth of things now.
I can see the Forest for the Trees,
and I know you were never truly mine no matter how much you pretended.
From the very beginning we were fated to end up this way,
with Hearts torn apart and a Love forever ended.
Still from time to time my thoughts turn to you,
and my Heart has beautiful visions of what it wanted back then …
You and I… Two Hearts joined by a Forever Love…
Cherishing our shared passions and desires,
and for always much more than merely friends.
That will never happen now for you have moved on,
and clearly forgotten me.
I don’t understand how you can push aside feelings that way,
and just stand back while you watch me bleed.
I know you had told me to ” move on “.
What I haven’t figured out is how you do that
when your Heart was so completely invested ?
I have tried to no avail,
for no other Love could ever be You.
They are all destined to fail.
Will We ever have ” Our Time ” again ?
As much as I wish this were possible,
I won’t hold my breath since I feel that Our Tale
has already come to it’s End.

**************************************************************************

This post is merely a jumble of thoughts I had about a past Love. It’s not meant to be a ” perfect ” poem. It’s only an expression of unresolved feelings from the depths of my Heart.. nothing more, nothing less.

About insanityrules67

I'm passionate about Writing. I have been ever since high school. I also Love to Read Fantasy, or Sci-Fi. Plus I enjoy Drawing, Playing Games Online, Watching Movies, Playing Board Games, Watching WWE Wrestling, and Gazing at the Stars on a Clear Cool Fall - or Winter - Night. Plus I also Love to stay in Touch with my Friends and Family Online.
This entry was posted in Broken Dreams, Broken Heart, Desires, Dreams, Expressing Love, Forever Love, Frustration, Heart Break, Mixed Feelings, Passion, Picking Up the Pieces, Relationships, Shattered Heart, Sorrow, Swirling Thoughts, True Love, Unanswered Questions, Yearning and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ” All I Wanted “….

  1. jdsurferboy18fl says:

    Was nicely said and as I hoped it were not the true happening for you because I hate to see anyone hurt or led to believe that they are valued more than they actually are in ones life. You have such an awesome way with words, I could actually feel your pain 😦 I know I will be older and more mature soon enough and getting hurt comes with some relationships, it kinda scares me though, I will always try to be true and your words will help me understand that drive even more, thanks 🙂

  2. Thanks for your kind comment JD. Yes, it did happen to me in my past, but that’s simply how Life is sometimes. It’d be nice if everything always happened exactly the way we wished it would, but that’s just not how Life is. Just remember though, that despite the risks involved with giving your heart completely to someone, it’s still better than shutting yourself off from Love. A Life without Love is empty, and dark. So it’s always better to stay true to your Heart, even when it may end up getting hurt. Your welcome. I’m glad that you can gain something from my words. I’ve never thought of myself as a sort of ” teacher “, but if my words help anyone then that’s wonderful… even though the ” lessons ” are completely unintentional, since I write for the Love of writing alone.

Leave a Reply

