Famous Last Words : ” I’ll Keep You Posted, ” yeah right ! …

The ending sentence of the last email I received from my ” Maine ” Sweetheart was ” I’ll keep You posted. ” This was referring to His supposed promise to let Me know when He would be back from a Weekend long family trip. He had explained that He might be back Sunday, but He wasn’t sure so He would ” keep Me posted “. This email was from Friday just before He left for His Family trip. He explained in the email that He had only just got home from Work, and His Mom pushed Him to hurry up and be ready to go quickly because She wanted to get to their destination before dark. I’m not an unreasonable person, so I let it go that He didn’t take a couple of minutes to give me at least a quick phone call on Friday. I thought I safely assumed that at some point during the Family trip He would find a way to contact Me, and He would keep His promise of ” keeping Me posted “. Guess I was wrong since here it is 12:22 am Monday morning – a little after midnight – and I haven’t received even a brief email from Him.
I realize that ” things happen “, and reasons come up that could have possibly prevented Him from contacting Me. Yet the catch to this is that it’s not the first time He’s promised to contact Me, and hasn’t. Even though I’ve explained to Him several times in the past how important it is for Him to keep His word and/or promises to Me, still this ends up happening again.
The reason for His ” family trip ” was a family emergency I won’t discuss on here since it’s just too personal, but still even considering this how hard would it truly be to give me a very brief phone call to let Me know what’s going on, or at the very least send me a brief email ?! It doesn’t seem to Me like it should be that difficult.
The last time I spoke to Him on the phone was this past Thursday. Even then it wasn’t a very long phone call. I tried to be understanding about it since He had just received some news about a family member that was upsetting, but still I felt a bit pushed away. I hope that doesn’t make Me a selfish person to feel that way. I try to live my life considering the feelings of others as well as my own.
What bothers Me that I’m wondering about is if He will ever truly realize that He can let Me in even when what’s going on isn’t great. I’ve told Him that I Love Him truly, and that I’m here for Him through good times and bad. Still whenever anything upsetting happens I’ve seen that He has a pattern of behavior of shutting down, and shutting me out emotionally. I understand from what I’ve read about it, that this is an aspect of an introvert’s behavior patterns. I’m a realist. I know that a person is who they are, and their basic behavior never changes no matter how much others might try to change it. This leaves Me with a question that’s been plaguing my thoughts.
IF I do truly become ” involved ” with my ” Maine ” Sweetheart after We finally have our long awaited in person meeting in December, then will I be able to accept How He is, and be okay with it ?! Will His way of closing up when dealing with a difficult situation be something that I can truly tolerate, and accept without trying to change Him ?!
I know I have a lot of thinking to do before December rolls around. What I need to do somehow is to find a healthy balance between what my heart wants, and what would be truly ” good for Me “. I’ve found many times that that sort of balance can be extremely hard to find. It’s so much easier to simply ” follow Your Heart “, even when what Your Heart is telling You might not be the best for Your life.

About insanityrules67

I'm passionate about Writing. I have been ever since high school. I also Love to Read Fantasy, or Sci-Fi. Plus I enjoy Drawing, Playing Games Online, Watching Movies, Playing Board Games, Watching WWE Wrestling, and Gazing at the Stars on a Clear Cool Fall - or Winter - Night. Plus I also Love to stay in Touch with my Friends and Family Online.
This entry was posted in Doubts, Dreams, Fears, Heart's Choices, Hope, Long Distance Relationship, Patience, Phone Calls, Relationships, Swirling Thoughts, Understanding and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Famous Last Words : ” I’ll Keep You Posted, ” yeah right ! …

  1. It sounds like you may need to accept that he might be the type of guy who just doesn’t understand keeping in contact in the way that you do and although he can probably make more of an effort, you ultimately need to decide if this is a dealbreaker for you or not.

    A LDR is really tough, if he is consistently showing that this is his pattern, and doesn’t quite get that it’s not working for you then perhaps the time has come to really question if you are prepared to go through this regularly with him or, if you can accept that there are going to be times, like this, when he just won’t be in contact as much as you would like him to be. 🙂

    IE: This is as much about your expectations as it is about him not meeting them

  2. Thanks for the comment. You’re right. It is just as much about my expectations as it is about Him not meeting them. I have a lot to think about.

Leave a Reply

